DEBORAH VOGTS: Seeds of Summer sows hope

SEEDS OF SUMMER: Book #2 Seasons of the Tallgrass Series
A heart-warming contemporary romance set in the Flint Hills of Kansas where a former rodeo queen abandons her dreams in order to care for her deceased father’s ranch and her two half-siblings, only to realize with the help of a young new pastor that God can turn even the most dire circumstances into seeds of hope. Spanning the Seasons of the Tallgrass, each story in this series reveals the struggle of the people who live there and the dreams they have for the land until they come full-circle in a never-ending cycle, just as man comes full-circle in his understanding of God.
SHE MUST ABANDON HER DREAMS .
Former rodeo queen Natalie Adams has big troubles. When her father dies unexpectedly, she’s saddled with the family ranch and two half-siblings, whose mother abandoned them years ago and is long believed dead. A handsome young pastor, Jared Logan, repeatedly comes to her rescue. But Natalie’s strong independent nature wants nothing to do with his help.

HE MUST FULFILL HIS.
Jared, a city boy do-gooder, has dreams of his own. He’s ready to solve Natalie’s problems, as well as any problems in his church. But his congregation resists change, and the more deeply involved he becomes with Natalie’s family, the more he questions his life as a clergyman.
Jared’s enthusiasm turns to fear as he contemplates failure.

WILL THEY FACE THEIR FEARS …AND FIND UNCONDITIONAL LOVE?
When Natalie’s stepmother unexpectedly shows up with plans of her own, Natalie must choose between the responsibilities of caring for a family or following her own desires. Love, forgiveness, and faith mingle together in the breathtaking world of the Kansas Flint Hills prairie.
*******************
AUTHOR BIOGRAPHY:

I grew up on a farm in SE Kansas with pigs, cattle, horses and sheep, as well as space to run free. After college, I remember being in a city park flying kites and having the worst ache in my heart for wide-open spaces. That longing took me back home where I married a high school classmate. My husband and I have three daughters and raise and train American Quarter Horses.

To put it simply, I love living in the country — fresh air, quiet atmosphere, breathtaking sunsets. Besides writing, my hobbies include reading, cooking, sewing, gardening and garage sale shopping. I enjoy playing the piano, taking walks with our two golden retrievers, and singing in the church choir. I’m also a 4-H mom and a Sunday school teacher.

If you haven’t guessed by now, the books I write are set in the country. I believe my most dedicated readers will be those who live in the country, those who have moved from the country and still hold it in their hearts, or those who have never lived there but long for the simple life it offers. Because of this, I’ve chosen Country at Heart as my writing brand, which is also the title of my Blog.

On Writing:

I began my first book when I was in high school. In college I studied English literature and journalism. Then came marriage, kids . . . life. During that time, I piddled with my writing but didn’t take it seriously until 2002 when I joined a local writer’s group and American Christian Fiction Writers. I also joined a critique group, took online writing workshops, read writing book how-to’s and attended writer’s conferences. Now I have an agent, Rachelle Gardner, at WordServe Literary and have been contracted with Zondervan for a three-book contemporary romance series.

Country magazine recently profiled Vogts’ life as a Kansas author. “Like the characters she creates, author Deborah Vogts finds contentment and fulfillment by following her passions.”

The feature explores how Vogts’ writing is inspired by the horse stories that she hears from her husband and daughters at the dinner table. The article states that Deborah’s novels are “unlike some steamy romance novels, hers promote traditional lifestyles and values.”

Deborah writes for more than just romantic females and horse lovers. “I’ve had so many men read my book, says Vogts. ―It’s incredible.”


Deborah enjoys reading, cooking, sewing, gardening and shopping at garage sales. Playing the piano, taking walks with her two golden retrievers and being a 4-H mom are also hobbies of Deborah. At church she teaches Sunday school and sings in the choir. To learn more about Deborah, please visit her web site at www.deborahvogts.com.

The Seasons of the Tallgrass series captures the spirit and dreams of ordinary people living in the Flint Hills of Kansas–one of the last tallgrass prairie regions in the world.The first book, Snow Melts in Spring, is available in stores now.

One thought on “DEBORAH VOGTS: Seeds of Summer sows hope

Leave a comment