Uncle Ben’s helps with healthy eating

I live in Louisiana where a meal without rice is, well, a disgrace. Uncle Ben might as well have been another member of our family because he was in our kitchen for almost every dinner. I don’t think I knew any other brands of rice existed until I battled the grocery as a young bride and wanted to prove my coupon savvy to my new husband.

I may have saved money on the rice, but I lost money on the dinner. The rice reminded me of the goop I used making paper maiche objects. Lesson learned. Back to Uncle Ben’s.

Years later, as a new mom, I attempted to introduce my children to a healthy brown rice.  Red beans and brown rice do make for a visually appealing meal. Back to Uncle Ben’s.

Now, though, Uncle Ben’s has Whole Grain White Rice. Looks like white rice. Tastes like white rice. But this new product has all the benefits of a whole grain rice. Brilliant.

Chef Sarah, my daughter pictured here, and I are going to make jambalaya. She’s thrilled to have the cool apron, mostly to protect herself  from me. I’m not all that neat in the kitchen.

The other five boxes of rice Uncle Ben’s generously provided, along with two more aprons, were going to be part of a giveaway. But I didn’t think that my blog readers would mind my donating them to our local food pantry.  As you may have heard, we’re dealing with an oil crisis, which-ironically-is affecting the very industry that gives us a reason to cook more rice. Many families who depend on that industry will be needing help. And I couldn’t think of a better way than to donate.

By the way…click the link and make yourself at home on Uncle’s Ben website. Great recipes and coupons!

“I wrote  this review while participating in a blog campaign by Mom Central on behalf of Uncle Ben’s and received samples to facilitate my candid review. Mom Central sent me a gift card to thank me for taking the time to participate.”

One thought on “Uncle Ben’s helps with healthy eating

  1. Pingback: Yummy Rice | Adrienne's House

Leave a Reply

