Just Over the Horizon…Meet Richard Mabry

From Christa: Richard and friends…mea culpa for the delay in posting…We’re on vacation in Maui (so sad, I know), and my time zones are altered! I’m truly excited to have Richard’s guest post here.  I met Richard and his precious wife at my second ACFW Conference, after he and I were clients of Rachelle Gardner. I’ve enjoyed knowing him, and I am certain you will too!

When our children were smaller, we had a lake house about an hour’s drive from Dallas. In the time-honored tradition of children everywhere, they began asking “How much longer?” and “Are we there yet?” shortly after we left home. I knew the landmarks along the road well enough that I was able predict our arrivMabry.jpegal before we crested the last hill. Matter of fact, we made a game of it. I’d borrow a line from their favorite Muppet, The Amazing Mumford, and say, “Okay, it’s time. Say it.” And they’d repeat the magic words: “A la peanut butter sandwiches. Make Runaway Bay appear.” And sure enough, it did.

Don’t we CodeBlue_HIRES.jpegwriters wish we knew what was over the next hill? We’d like to be able to say, “A la peanut butter sandwiches. Make an agent offer representation.” Or “A la peanut butter sandwiches. Make an editor offer a contract.” But it doesn’t work that way. We don’t know the landmarks of this journey, so we have to wait, crest the next hill, and if nothing positive happens, press on to the next one.

Of course, even if there is a contract over the next hill, that isn’t the end of the journey. There are the edits—macro edits, line edits, galley proofs. There’s cover art, a possible title change, all sorts of things. And along the way, we’re expected to help market our work, starting well before the date of publication.

Christa and I have both been fortunate enough to crest a number of those hills: representation by an agent (and we’re blessed with a great one: Rachelle Gardner), a contract for publication of our work, and the actual release of the books. Walking On Broken Glass debuted to critical acclaim on February 1. My novel of medical suspense, Code Blue, will release on April 1. These are big hills, and we both were anxious to get to the top so we could see further down the road. And you know what we saw? More hills.

We’re looking forward to having more of our work published, but if we keep cresting hills and nothing appears, I don’t believe we’ll stop. Because writers don’t stay on this road just hoping to see a goal fulfilled. We stay on the road because writing is what we do—for many of us it’s what we feel we’ve been called to do. So we’ll keep doing it, no matter what appears over the next hill.

What are you hoping to see over your next hill?

One thought on “Just Over the Horizon…Meet Richard Mabry

  1. Hi, Richard and Christa. I hope you had a great time at Mount Hermon, Richard, and that you’re having a blast in Maui, Christa.

    I’m climbing the hill called Revisions. What I hope to discover on the other side is that our agent sees even more promise in my story and that it won’t need too much more work before submissions. However, I’m realistic and know there may be a few more hills before that happens. I’ve got my hiking boots on and am enjoying the journey. It sure is scenic!

Leave a Reply

