Dream big and make time for what’s important in your life

For so many years I wanted to write a novel. I took notes. I came up with ideas. I wrote dialogue in my mind.

But not until I turned fifty did I finally put one of the stories on paper – the tale of a corporate journalist who winds up owning a newspaper in tiny Green, La., and all the people and situations she encounters along the way.

Lois Barker changes the town of Green. The town changes her. The story changed me. I moved fiction up as a priority. I trimmed my to-do list. I prayed. A lot. I sat down and wrote.

I had great fun getting to know Lois and thGone to Greene folks in Green – and beginning to learn how to write fiction. Gone to Green was inspired by my observations of life in the South, years as a journalist, and people I’ve met. I like small southern towns and those who live there. I also appreciate strong, uncertain women who are trying to find their place in the world, how hard it can be to find their right path and how much fun it is when they do.

Watching Gone to Green unfold has been a crazy, amazing adventure – and a reminder to me of how important it is to dream big. To others who want to write a novel or tackle another dream, I encourage you to make a list of priorities. Slow down and assess your goals. Say “no” to some things in order to say “yes” to what is most important to you. Take steps – even small ones — to get going. Ask God to guide. And have fun as you watch unexpected blessings unfold and dreams come true.

To contact Judy Christie:

Web site: www.judychristie.com

Facebook: Facebook.com/judychristie (I love FB friends!)

E-mail: Judy@judychristie.com

About the book: Gone to Green is the debut novel by Louisiana writer Judy Christie. It launches this week, as part of the new line of inspirational fiction from Abingdon Press.  It is the first of a series set in Green, Louisiana, with Goodness Gracious Green out in 2010 and Green Through and Through in 2011.Judy Christie photo.jpg

About the author: Writer and consultant Judy Christie lives in Northwest Louisiana.  She is the author of the Hurry Less, Worry Less nonfiction series (also Abingdon Press) and loves to help busy people slow down and enjoy each day more. “Hurry Less Worry Less at Work” comes out in September. A former journalist, she likes primitive antiques, crawfish bread at the New Orleans JazzFest and sitting in the porch swing.

Leave a Reply

