It’s CAMY TANG time! FIRST PLACE WINNER in ACFW’S 2008 BOOK OF THE YEAR DEBUT AUTHOR CATEGORY.

From Christa: Don’t tell Camy I said this, but honestly, I think she’s cloned herself. I mean, really, are we supposed to believe that this wisp of a woman could accomplish what she does in a day? Or…maybe she’s found a way to add more hours to a day? Hmm.

Truly, Camy is a dynamo, and I not only admire her ability to manage the tasks she has outside of her own writing, I appreciate her generosity in helping other writers reach success, her offering prayers on our behalf, and always striving to improve her craft.

I’m excited to host Camy and look forward to learning from her.

Hi there! Christa asked me to guest blog today about time management.

Now, let me first say that I’m not perfect with my own time management. I have a tendency to procrastinate that I’m trying to overcome.

However, I can say that I’m better about not procrastinating now than I was a few years ago, so something must be working.

1) First of all, I have a schedule I’ve made up for myself that lists how much time I’m supposed to spend each day on a particular task, like housework, cooking, blogging, email, and writing.

It’s not a very rigid schedule, and I only list the amount of time, not when I do them.

However, for different people, different things work, and if a set schedule where you know you spend 8 a.m. -10 a.m. writing and then 10 a.m. – 11 a.m. checking emails will work better for you, I’m all for it.

I keep the schedule in mind when I start the day so that I’m not completely aimless, but I give myself leave to alter things if something else has a higher priority.

2) Second, I list things for me to do in the calendar on my computer. Other people might do better with a calendar on the wall or a small appointment book. Whatever floats your boat.

I list everything that needs to be done that day or else Dire Consequences Will Ensue. This is my way of prioritizing my day-the things on my calendar are my highest priority and must be done that day sometime.

3) Third, I prioritize the other stuff lower on the list by putting them on a general “to do” list by my computer. If I don’t get to them that day, nothing Dire will ensue, but they’re there to remind me that they eventually need to get done.

If days pass, those lower priority stuff might rise to a higher priority, so I will then input them into my calendar so that they’re accomplished that day.

4) Fourth, although sometimes this is the first thing I do, is that I clean my desk. Yes, I know this sounds ridiculous and impossible considering the state of my desk (which is here in pictorial form on my blog: http://camys-loft.blogspot.com/2007/08/door-desk.html).

However, a clean, clear desk somehow makes my brain feel both clean and clear.

Plus, I know there’s nothing important that I have to do hiding under a pile of non-urgent things. Much peace of mind.

Well, there’s my system! I hope this helps somebody out there!

Thanks for having me guest blog, Christa!
Camy

Camy Tang writes romance with a kick of wasabi. She used to be a biologist, but now she is a staff worker for her church youth group and leads a worship team for Sunday service. She also runs the Story Sensei fiction critique service. On her blog, she gives away Christian novels every Monday and Thursday, and she ponders frivolous things like dumb dogs (namely, hers), coffee-geek husbands (no resemblance to her own…), the writing journey, Asiana, and anything else that comes to mind. Visit her website at http://www.camytang.com/ for a huge website contest going on right now, giving away ten boxes of books and 30 copies of her latest release, SINGLE SASHIMI. The other books in her SUSHI SERIES are SUSHI FOR ONE and ONLY UNI.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
5 thoughts on “It’s CAMY TANG time! FIRST PLACE WINNER in ACFW’S 2008 BOOK OF THE YEAR DEBUT AUTHOR CATEGORY.

  1. I’m all about having a clean desk. When it’s cluttered, my mind feels cluttered. Glad to know I’m not the only “freak” out there about a neat desk. LOL

    Thanks for the interview. It’s neat to see how writer’s organize their time. Because it seems Camy is all over the place, and I’m thinking “Jeez, does she never sleep?”

    Have a great Friday!

  2. Aw, thanks, Christa! Thanks for letting me guest blog, too!

    I promise, Lynn, I do sleep! A lot! That’s why I have to organize my time–so I can have time to sleep! LOL
    Camy

  3. Thanks, Christa and Camy!! I am still learning to say “No,” and even more difficult for me, “Later.” Once I master those two words, spoken in response to people who think I’m available all day every day, I’ll get a lot more done…..

  4. I was just reading Writer Faster, Write Better by David Fyxell, and he also mentioned keeping the desk organized (I won’t say clean; sometimes you can be messy and be organized). The writers who had the most trouble with the deadlines were the ones with the fire hazards. Invariably, they would spend time rooting through piles, trying to find whatever they had lost–obviously not a good use of time.

  5. At this point in my life when I’m trying to juggle a full-time job, part-time education, children’s ministry at church, writing, and family, time management is vital. I’ve learned that a spotless house doesn’t define me. I’ve learned the world won’t come crashing down if I say no. I recently started using my computer calendar. I don’t lose it like I lose my paper one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

