MY SOUL TO KEEP: MELANIE WELLS’ THIRD BOOK IN DYLAN FOSTER SERIES

“I became a writer because I’m a musician and a reader and because I need to make something of my observations. I knit them into a story that’s nothing more than my point of view. But that’s all creativity is. It’s all you have to offer up – the view from your side of the kitchen table.”

A native of the Texas panhandle and the child of musicians, Melanie Wells attended Southern Methodist University on a music scholarship (she’s a fiddle player), and later completed graduate degrees in counseling psychology and Biblical studies at Our Lady of the Lake University and Dallas Theological Seminary. She has taught at the graduate level at both OLLU and DTS, and has been in private practice as a counselor since 1992. She is the founder and director of LifeWorks counseling associates in Dallas, Texas, a collaborative community of creative therapists. When the Day of Evil Comes is her first published work of fiction, and the first of a three-book series. The second work, The Soul Hunter was released in May, 2006. She lives and writes in Dallas.

Favorite movie: To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee
Runner-up: The Hunt for Red October (Sean Connery and Alec Baldwin and a terrific screenplay)
Favorite book: To Kill a Mockingbird (obviously)Runner-up: In Cold Blood, by Truman Capote
Poet: John Donne (look it up)
Songwriter: Trish Murphy
Composer: Mahler
Dessert: my chocolate chip cookies

Hometown: Amarillo, TX
High School mascot: The Golden Sandies

Fun fact: I recently stalked Lyle Lovett and got him to autograph my fiddle case

***************************************************************************************************************

My Soul to Keep
By Melanie Wells

It Begins…

“WHEN DID I GIVE up on certainty?

At what hour on what day did I realize that you never get to know the answers? Especially not the juicy ones?

It was a misguided affectation, I realize, my little preoccupation with verity. One that served no more purpose than a set of wisdom teeth or a manual typewriter — fitting, perhaps, in some other millennium, but out of place if not archaic in a postmodern world of news cycles, reality shows, and million-dollar half-minute Super Bowl ads. I never saw it as dangerous, though. Of course, that was back when I was young and dumb and blissfully wafting through my days as though nothing sinister was sharing the air with me.
But the air is indeed crowded. And the other inhabitants rarely announce their presence, much less their intentions. Which sends the rest of us spinning around in unexpected directions, bumping into invisible barricades and teetering off into unseen ravines.

Eventually, of course, if you have any spunk at all, you right yourself and you find your bearings. But just when you think you’ve spotted the lodestar, you discover that what you thought was true north is neither. That truth in the universe is the most elusive of the elements. And that if you’re dumb enough to go looking for it, you’re liable to get smacked in the face by one of the legions of liars you’re trying to outwit.
My own personal liar — the one assigned to me by some force out there in the ether — is named Peter Terry. He’s a nasty, ratfink bottomdweller — a mind-stalking, soul-dissing prevaricator of the first degree. He lies, cheats, and steals, amusing himself by shoplifting, pickpocketing, breaking and entering, or outright armed robbery.

I thought I’d seen the worst of him. But with beings like Peter Terry, I’ve learned, low expectations cannot possibly be low enough.”

One thought on “MY SOUL TO KEEP: MELANIE WELLS’ THIRD BOOK IN DYLAN FOSTER SERIES

  1. Hi Crista. Thank’s so much for post-ing about my book. Books are real hard to write, as you probly know. Im so empressed you hate bad grammer as so do I. I also hate bad spelleng and I also stand on one leg (like a flamingo) -mainly while working in the kitchen like you.

    Let’s have a contest and see how many mistakes people can find in the previous paragraph. heh heh.

    Tell your daughter I am married to a poli sci professor who writes books with CHARTS in them. B-O-R-I-N-G. When his last book came out (Why Budgets Matter – a real grabber of a title!) I threw him a book release party. We got everyone liquored up and had a reading. It was hysterical.

    Seriously – Thanks much for supporting my book. Bloggers make the world go ’round. And without readers, would a book be a book at all? Or would it be like a tree in a forest? Nobody listening…

    Peace to you. Keep up the good work. Censorship stinks. Freedom Rocks.

    Melanie

Leave a Reply

