Get your skinny off

After this blog post, I’ll need to create a new category. Maybe “Depths of Shallowness” since it’s so oxymoronic. If nothing else, the moronic works.

I suppose, though, this inane topic is the price for waking up an hour before the alarm. Why? Well, let’s see. Toss, turn, toss, turn, turn, toss, turn, toss, toss. If I was a salad, I’d be ready.

 I wander into the kitchen, start the coffee maker, read my morning devotion. Then, I check to see if the blog I wrote last night posted. Which it did not. Why? Because today is not the 15th, it’s the 14th. And the blog on the 15th can’t be moved to the 14th.

So, I cruise over to MSN to check the headlines, and I stumble upon a story discussing the latest eating habits of Katie Holmes and Victoria Beckham. This (eating and the mention of those two) also seems oxymoronic. Here’s the scoop (and definitely NOT ice cream):

The magazine (Life & Style) reports that during a recent outing to Madeo, the duo shared a green salad sans dressing, one piece of fish and one side of steamed spinach. They also ordered one regular Coke and two glasses of ice.

“Katie poured half the soda into each of their glasses, then filled up the rest with bottled water,” a Madeo regular told the magazine.

 “She is copying Victoria’s fad of eating seaweed shakes, frozen grapes and edamame beans. She is tiny.”

Katie’s getting a reputation for micro-munches. Recently, a fellow diner gave Life & Style magazine a rundown of her light lunch at L.A.’s Osteria Mozza. “She had only steamed asparagus as an appetizer, then a tiny plate of chilled beets for her entrée.” 

Granted, I live in a state where a bowl of gumbo and slabs of buttered French bread are considered an appetizer before a lunch platter of fried seafood buried under mounds of hush puppies with a side scoop of potato salad, more French bread, and then bread pudding for dessert.

But, really, ladies. Have some self-respect. You are mothers. You are not supposed to have the bodies of ten-year-old boys. What message are you sending to my daughters, my granddaughters, and everyone else’s daughters? 

 As my father used to say, “Just shows to go ya.” All that recognition, all that money, but all that still isn’t all that. So sad. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

