DAVID GREGORY: THE NEXT LEVEL

David Gregory

THE NEXT LEVEL

 by David Gregory

a parable about finding your place in life

David is  the coauthor of two nonfiction books, Dinner with a Perfect Stranger and A Day with a Perfect Stranger. He is also a  frequent conference speaker. After a ten-year business career, he returned to school to study religion and communications, earning two master’s degrees. David lives in Texas, where he works for a nonprofit organization.  
  
One of the intriguing insights of this novella for me is the distinction made between goals and our life’s purpose.  Moving toward goals set with the best of intentions may be moving us away from the very reason for our lives here on earth.
 
Armed with only his undergraduate degree after walking out on his first post-college job, Logan Bell sets out to land a position at a major high-tech company.  He’s hired as a troubleshooter, an organizational analyst, to evaluate each of the company’s five different levels and report his findings to the Director.
 
Through Bell and his investigations of each  division, we examine our own lives, sometimes uncomfortably seeing ourselves, our shortcomings. When he finally meets the Shareholder, Bell is both perplexed and astounded to discover the real meanings of profit and loss. 
 
Think: counterintuitive.
 
Speaking of gaining …I have TWO books to  give away.  Leave a comment and your name will be entered in the drawing.
6 thoughts on “DAVID GREGORY: THE NEXT LEVEL

  1. Hey, I’ve seen Dinner with a Perfect Stranger in WalMart and always pick it up. Unfortunately…and embarrassed to say… I didn’t buy it. 😦 I have no good reason…except I’m always broke. The Next Level sounds good too! In fact, my daughter might need that one. She just left Seminary after a year and a half, she has a degree in General Studies from LSU and she has NOT found her place in life. She’s substitute teacher and sending out resumes. Blah!

    You commented: Moving toward goals set with the best of intentions may be moving us away from the very reason for our lives here on earth.

    That’s true. I believe it, I believe it.
    Thanks, Christa for bringing these books to my attention.

  2. This sounds very intriguing. I have seen the movies made of his other books and enjoyed them greatly. I work as an organizational analyst, and use the Theory of Constraints by Eli Goldratt to fuel my analyses. I will be interested to learn Mr. Gregory’s model and put it to work as well.

  3. The Next Level sounds like a great book to read. I’ll have to remember the title for my next visit to Barnes & Noble. Great interview!

  4. I just finished reading this book this morning and loved it. One statement got to me – at the end when the Shareholder said, “Those levels are training grounds. When it comes to being a productive part of our team, most people have to go through how it doesn’t work before they’re ready for how it does work. Levels One through Four are how it doesn’t work.” I could relate. I saw myself in all four levels and desire to live in Level Five. I highly recommend this book.

Leave a Reply

