Can you Herman?

Fiendishly Difficult Word Game from the Oxford Word Challenge

Hermans

‘Hermans’ are sentences that use a pun on a person’s name, modelled on the sentence: ‘She’s my woman,’ said Herman. Hermans can include more complicated examples like: ‘What comes after H?’ said I, Jay, Kay, Ella, and Emma.

Suggest appropriate female names for the speakers of the following sentences:

Example: ‘Bless this meal,’ said . . .
Answer: Grace.

1. ‘Can you see I’ve been dieting?’ said . . .

2. ‘Is that a horse I hear?’ asked . . .

3.‘Everything in the garden is lovely,’ said . . .

4.‘I’m an egotist,’ said . . .

5.‘I only just got up,’ said . . .

6.‘I’m shrinking!’ said . . .

7.‘Sing doh, ray, me, fah, soh, te, doh,’ said . . .

8.‘This house has two lavatories,’ said . . .

9.‘I’m the greatest,’ said . . .

10.‘Anna’s not going anywhere,’ said . . .
Now suggest suitable male first names for the speakers of these sentences:

11. ‘I am the winner,’ said . . .

12. ‘I cannot tell a lie,’ said . . .

13.‘That can’t be a window,’ said . . .

14.‘I’ve finished the excavation,’ said . . .

15.‘On your knees!’ shouted . . .

16.‘I’m only joking,’ said . . .

17.‘Do you like my telescope?’ said . . .

18.‘I can’t get mumps twice,’ said . . .

19.‘How does that famous soliloquy start?’ asked . . .

20.‘Over and out,’ said . . .

ANSWERS TOMORROW!

One thought on “Can you Herman?

  1. Hi Christa!

    Ane Mulligan suggested I get in touch with you regarding David Gregory’s newest book, The Next Level. I’m the online publicist working on this title and am in the process of organizing a blog campaign. Participating reviewers will post a review of the book between March 10 and 14th. They’ll receive a review copy and up to two giveaway copies for their blog. Sound like fun?

    Hope you’ll participate!

    Thanks,
    Kelly

Leave a Reply

