Invitation to disaster?

Dilemma.

I cruised a website/blog by an agent who’s going on his/her own now and is accepting queries. Let me explain a “query” for my not-feeling-a-compulsion-to-bash-their-heads-in-with-monitors-non-writing friends.

Imagine there’s a great, no, better than great, beyond your wildest dreams great party going on. But, you are not invited. One of my daughters imagined this every weekend during her high school years. In college, I think she just went on search and crash missions. But back to the party. Here’s the seduction. You may be able to wrangle an invitation from the host/hostess if the request you write is appealing, arresting, funny without slapstick, snappy, professional, and yet, simple. You will then receive an invitation that permits you to enter the foyer.

So, I’m intrigued because the agent’s name is familiar and because I would like to actually one day have an agent to call my own. Reading through one of the pages, I notice Edgar Allan Poe’s middle name is spelled incorrectly. I always notice this because Edgar and I spell Allan the same way. Well, Edgar doesn’t spell much anymore, really. And, having taught American Literature since the Native Americans were chanting origin myths, I’ve seen his name more times than Whitman used commas.

Do I want to hoist my own petard ( with thanks to Hamlet and my other friend Will I. Am Shakespeare) by pointing that out? It was, I am most certain, a typo made by someone other than the agent. Right? I mean, my daughter is on typo-alert for my blogs, so it’s an easy mistake. See below:

Eye halve a spelling chequer It came with my pea sea
It plainly marques four my revue Miss steaks eye kin knot sea.
Eye strike a key and type a word And weight four it two say
Weather eye am wrong oar write It shows me strait a weigh.
As soon as a mist ache is maid It nose bee fore two long
And eye can put the error rite Its rare lea ever wrong.
Eye have run this poem threw it I am shore your pleased two no
Its letter perfect awl the weigh My chequer tolled me sew.-Sauce unknown

Perhaps the agent will admire by chutzpah or perhaps the agent will find a petard for me to hoist.

4 thoughts on “Invitation to disaster?

  1. Unless you and the agent are good buddies, you’d better keep your mouth closed and ignore all typos. I do believe agents can be dangerous enemies. I’ve noticed a lot of typos on agent and editor blogs and while they make me want to tear my hair because I know they’d reject me if my ms. had the very same typos, I feel I’ll leave the finger-pointing-you-made-booboo to someone else. And I feel compelled to warn my friends who want to point — please, keep mouth shut and fingers in pockets! Now… email me privately and tell me who this new agent is! 🙂

  2. Yeah, so, uhm…I don’t know if ylu were attempting to get the flow of M.C. Beth (publishing pending, right?), but it’s definately will.i.am. But I applaud your effort. ^^

Leave a Reply

