OOPS! I didn’t do it again.

God is so giving me whiplash.

This morning’s Bible readings were Psalms 31, 40, and 56. Here are a few soul searchers:

” But when I am afraid, I will put my trust in you. I praise God for what he has promised.” (56:3)

“But I am trusting you, O Lord, saying, ‘You are my God!’ My future is in your hands.” (31:14-15)

“I waited patiently for the Lord to help me.” (40:1)

Ouch.

Maybe it’s my neurotic tendency to fixate on word choices or maybe it’s just my being neurotic (don’t stop to answer that for me), but I’m noticing. . .

1. God’s not saying I won’t ever be afraid (use of “when”); he’s giving me the solution to the problem before it ever occurs. Fear? Trust. And I’m praising him for what he has promised. Not what he’s going to promise, not what he’s thinking about promising, but what he has already promised me.

2. I am trusting, ongoing trust, always trust. My future is in, yep, HIS hands.

3. And, oh, the soul twister, “waited patiently” for the Lord to help.

My loving and tender God, knowing how fragile I am and will forever be, “keeps track of all my sorrows,” and he collects my tears in his bottle. (56:8) He cares that I hurt; he gathers my pain into a place where it will not be forgotten, a bottle filled with disappointment and anger and frustration and broken dreams and mourning.

And the prize?

“When I awake, I will see you face to face and be satisfied. ” (Psalm 17:16) The bottle will be broken.

Leave a Reply

