DNA Encoded Procrastination

Hi everyone! My name is Erin  and for some odd reason I was asked to guest blog. I cannot imagine what I would have to say that might be half as interesting as my mom, she is such a phenomenal writer. However, my fears have not prevented me from writing. Please accept my advance apologies if the writing isn’t exactly up to par.

I must confess, I am a procrastinator. Really big procrastinator. I realized in high school that I was a huge procrastinator. I could write papers at the last minute and get good grades. I could study the night before and make fairly good grades. It seemed as though in high school, it was okay to be a procrastinator because the subject matter was never so hard that the last ditch effort to write a paper or study for a test was enough. I probably could have made better grades in high school had I written term papers, or at least started writing them, when the assignment was handed out, or had I studied for tests and/or quizzes earlier than the night before. But, since my grades were good enough to graduate advanced with honors, I was not too concerned.

Unfortunately, that procrastination effort does not transfer well in college. So much more is required of students in college. More unfortunate, I have trained myself to write papers under extreme pressure situations. And, as though that isn’t enough pressure, I expect another procrastinator to read/review/revise them for me under those same stressful situations. I think that I tend to forget that my English teacher, procrastinating, mother would much rather not review yet another paper! But, I want and expect her to do it pronto!

I have decided that my procrastination is encoded in my DNA, on my mother’s side of course. I find myself waiting until the last minute to read 200 pages, for just one class! A friend of mine is usually upset with me because my grades could be so much better had I not procrastinated and actually studied as much as I should have.

I am a political science major at the University of Houston. There are a lot of difficult majors out there, but political science in my opinion, is one of the most difficult. I write papers on The Republic of Plato and develop country reports on Greece or Israel. Luckily, I love the material. Unluckily, the tests are much harder than the papers! I fear that my procrastination will get the best of me. Sure I can get by with a decent grade by studying for tests the night before, not really reading the material, just taking notes in class, but I want to do great and be great.

Procrastination can easily prevent that. It is not as though I want or like to procrastinate, like I said, it is encoded in my DNA. I pray that my procrastination is not passed onto my children. Is it possible to de-code procrastination from my DNA?!?

I do not think that law school will afford me the ability to blame mom. I hope in August 2008 to be attending law school at the University of Houston. I am begging my procrastinator mom to save me where I lack in grades with an outstanding personal statement. I am asking a woman who has waited until almost the last minute to prepare herself for National Boards to help me with a personal statement. What a great idea that is, two procrastinators, two school projects, two deadlines.

One thought on “DNA Encoded Procrastination

  1. Mrs. Allan’s class encouraged procrastination for me. Not in her class (I don’t think it’s possible to pass AP unless you actually put time and thought into the assignments) but in all my other classes. She trained us to write the best essays we could in 40 minutes, so from then on every essay I ever wrote was a 40 minute creation. Good luck at law school!

Leave a Reply

