Did you hear the one about?

My Creative Writing students are taking their exam, one that I’ve used for probably ten years now thanks to one of the gurus, Skip Nicholson, on the English Language AP listserve. They’re writing a letter to themselves as the adults (I pray) they will be five years from now. I don’t read the letter nor does anyone else in the class. The handout details ideas ranging from their world now, values, friends, politics to their predictions for the world of the future. Also they are to predict who, what, and where they may be five years from now.

I find that I rarely have to ask for quiet during these writing times. They are intense, focused, and contemplative. Other than my keyboard pecking, the only sounds are rustling paper and scratching pens. My teacher heart nearly explodes.

A few Bible reading mornings ago I was thinking about us humans being made in God’s image and likeness. My Baltimore Catchecism automatically rewinds and plays from my former Catholic days.
Who made us?
God made us.
What is man?
Man is a creature composed of body and soul, and made to the image and likeness of God.

So, it occurs to me that if I have a sense of humor, well then, so must God. Of course one only has to see a kiwi fruit or think about biblical Abraham saying to Sarah, “Run this by me again. You’re what?” When my oldest son was in the Navy, he had an opportunity to be a medical corpsman in Italy. He was eagerly anticipating meeting all of the fine Italian women who’d be begging to al dente some pasta for him. Well, his prayers were answered as far as being surrounded by an abundance of Italian women. He was assigned to the Labor and Delivery floor at the hospital.

In my truly goofy moments, I think how riotous it would be if heaven did have A Night at the Improv. Donna Summers singing “It’s Raining Toads” before Moses’ stand-up comedy act. Maybe Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego doing slapstick.

Laughter, I believe, is the sound of God’s joy.

One thought on “Did you hear the one about?

Leave a Reply

